Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
videobruce

User accounts

I have been running 2k for 7 months now logged in as a administrator. I have read in other forums that for security reasons AND for performance reasons you shouldn't do this. The administartor function runs additional processes that the regular or power users don't need.

I finally got around to trying this and when I logged in as a regular user or power user, I still have the same 21 processes running at startup as I did as a administator (in task manager)! Also, I tried some basic changes as: moving and deleting shortcuts on the desktop, changing folder view options from those stupid Windows 3rd grade cartoon icon defaults to details, single click instead of double click, but everything returned to the default state after a reboot!

Are the user permissions so strict you can't even do simple things like those??????????

I added the path from the administrator settings to the new user I created for the desktop shortcuts and start meun shortcuts, but the folder views for example never changed!

You should log on to the WS as your normal account and use the "runas" command to log on as administrator. How you get to the runas command is hold down the left shift key and right click on the option. This should bring up a promt called runas. Left click on this and it will allow you to enter the admin username and password.