Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
atumra

total newbie question

I have tried knoppix and I would like to get more into linux. I was thinking about installing it on my D: drive (518 MB) as I have Windows ME on my C: drive. Is this possible? Can I then have a choice in what OS I run? Are there any good free distributions that I can try out? Thanks for any help.

You can install Knoppix on the hard drive. How you do this depends on what version of Knoppix that you have. The newer versions have a slightly different method that the older versions. But, you can install it right from the live cd.

Most distros are available as a free download. See Distrowatch to get some ideas.

What you want to do is make sure that your hardware is supported in whatever distro that you choose. For example, Knoppix is based on Debian. If all your hardware works with Knoppix, it would be a fine choice.

It all depend on what you are looking for in the distro install (what tasks that you want to accomplish).

What version of Knoppix do you have?

Sounds like a good way to get started! I have v3.2. Will that work? Also I can't connect to the internet with it. Knoppix says can't query my modem, maybe I need a driver for it- its a Conexant SoftK56 PCI Modem. I could just be doing it wrong, too.

This is why it is good to know what hardware a person has in their system before pushing ahead. Yes, this version of Knoppix will easily install on your hard drive.

Knoppix will need about 3 gigs of hard drive space, according to the instructions. This means that you will need to install it to the C drive, which is possible, if you can afford to give the 3 gigs from that drive. It will operate next to the windows partition. So, if you have a 20 gig hard drive for C, then you can allocate 10 gig for Windows and 10 for Knoppix. Or, more for Windows and at least 5 gigs for knoppix, if you want to install more programs to Knoopix. If not, just allocate 4 for Knoppix.