Brian Frank 0 Posted March 6, 2001 Oh good. I see more people have no life like me. At least we're trying to accomplish something. In other worthless news: I successfully overclocked some generic memory with Micro Q or something like that rated at PC133 to 150MHz. Id try more but Ive got the Asus A7V with the KT133 chipset. Since the ol' L1 lead pencil trick didnt work, Im stuck with FSB overclocking 6x113 clock speed ~680MHz. Just for the heck of it my specs on the sig line. I wonder what beer I'll like. Oh well, I turn 21 towards the end of the year. I can get smashed at the next new years eve party! ------------------ Whaazzzupppppppppp! Asus A7V Duron 600@680 384 MB SDRAM PC133@150MHz Samsung 48x CD-ROM Toshiba 12x DVD-ROM Zip CD650 USB 4/4/6 Zip 100 USB Maxtor 20.4 GB ATA100 Voodoo 4 4500 AGP @176 MHz Guillemot Maxi Sound Fortissimo SIIG 3 port 1394 PCI Adapter D-Link DFE-530 10/100 NIC Creative Cambridge Soundworks FPS1000 MS Intellimouse Optical Kleer 17-inch @ 85Hz 1152x864x32 desktop Share this post Link to post
Brian Frank 0 Posted March 6, 2001 Oh, you dont know. Okay, its really simple, after you get your processor if you havent yet, or take it out of the system for this. Take a #2 lead pencil and connect the little L1 dots on the Duron/Athlon processor, do this with each pair on the L1's, but nothing else. I saw a picture of it on the web, and it helped me. Its much easier if you can see it. I dont want to go through the hell of getting the HSF off my processor again. I'll probably just cut the band that holds it down when i get a new processor or HSF, probably at the same time. Share this post Link to post
Brian Frank 0 Posted March 6, 2001 It also might help if I told you what the lead pencil trick is. After you connect the L1 bridges, you should be able to overclock the processor by increasing the clock multiplier along with increasing the voltage. Even if youve got a mobo with the KT133 chipset on it having a limited FSB manipulation up till only 113MHz before things dont like you, if you combine the two, things will fly. Just becareful, if you screw up your hardware, the manufacturers wont replace anything if they find out you were overclocking it. Share this post Link to post
pimpin_228 0 Posted March 7, 2001 Oh i see it's like makin a ittl connection Share this post Link to post
EddiE314 0 Posted March 7, 2001 you have to use the right pencil though, in other words, its the "Poor Man's Trick". Share this post Link to post
Brian Frank 0 Posted March 7, 2001 Well, that certainly might explain why that trick didnt work for me...just had to use the FSB. I used a mechanical pencil #2 .07mm lead. Should I have used a normal, wood pencil? Duron 600 Share this post Link to post
pimpin_228 0 Posted March 7, 2001 Oh okay you use it like a bridge or something like that Share this post Link to post
EddiE314 0 Posted March 7, 2001 don't even try doing it yourself Cody, let me do it, better yet, let me show you how. Brian: you used a #2??? I thought thats what you were suppesed to use...i was gonnna use a #2 Dixon-Ticonderoga Wooden Pencil. well sh1t, i'll get a #2 and #3 and try them both on your processor Cody. Share this post Link to post
Brian Frank 0 Posted March 8, 2001 Well the trick was supposed to work...but it didnt. Still, there's always the FSB. But with a KT133 board, you really cant push it past 113MHz. And this is on the Asus A7V. Still, thats nothing to laugh at. Make sure you get some kinda thermal paste, dropped my cpu temp by 10 degrees. Hope it works. Share this post Link to post
clutch 1 Posted March 8, 2001 If the "pencil trick" is merely drawing a conductive path between two points, then why not get a conductive pen? You can find them at better electronics stores (usually not at Radio Shack) at they work very well. I used them in the past for correcting burned traces on circuit boards in moderate temperature applications. Shouldn't cost more than $5 US. ------------------ Regards, clutch Share this post Link to post
Son_Gohan 0 Posted March 8, 2001 Since I don't know what to post today, here is another pointless win32 app: // ************************************************************* // BMP LOAD EXAMPLE // Written by Juan Soulie <jsoulie@cplusplus.com> // ************************************************************* #include <windows.h> #include <fstream.h> char szAppName [] = "BMPLoad"; LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc (HWND, UINT, WPARAM, LPARAM); // ********** // class CRaster // - Generic class for BMP raster images. class CRaster { public: int Width,Height; // Dimensions int BPP; // Bits Per Pixel. char * Raster; // Bits of the Image. RGBQUAD * Palette; // RGB Palette for the image. int BytesPerRow; // Row Width (in bytes). BITMAPINFO * pbmi; // BITMAPINFO structure // Member functions (defined later): int LoadBMP (char * szFile); int GDIPaint (HDC hdc,int x,int y); }; // ********** // Windows Main Function. // - Here starts our demo program int WINAPI WinMain ( HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow ) { HWND hwnd; MSG msg; WNDCLASS wc; wc.style = CS_HREDRAW|CS_VREDRAW; wc.lpfnWndProc = WindowProc; wc.cbCl***tra = 0; wc.cbWndExtra = 0; wc.hInstance = hInstance; wc.hIcon = LoadIcon (NULL, IDI_APPLICATION); wc.hCursor = LoadCursor (NULL, IDC_ARROW); wc.hbrBackground = (HBRUSH) (COLOR_WINDOW+1); wc.lpszMenuName = NULL; wc.lpszClassName = szAppName; RegisterClass (&wc); hwnd = CreateWindow (szAppName,"BMP Load",WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT, 0,0,hInstance,0); ShowWindow (hwnd,nCmdShow); UpdateWindow (hwnd); while (GetMessage(&msg,0,0,0)) { TranslateMessage (&msg); DispatchMessage (&msg); } return msg.wParam; } // ********** // Main Window Procedure. // - Processes Window Messages LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc (HWND hwnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam) { static CRaster bmp; HDC hdc; PAINTSTRUCT ps; switch (message) { case WM_CREATE: bmp.LoadBMP ("example.bmp"); return 0; case WM_PAINT: hdc=BeginPaint (hwnd,&ps); bmp.GDIPaint (hdc,10,10); EndPaint (hwnd,&ps); return 0; case WM_DESTROY: PostQuitMessage (0); return 0; } return DefWindowProc (hwnd,message,wParam,lParam); } // ********** // CRaster::LoadBMPFile (FileName); // - loads a BMP file into a CRaster object // * supports non-RLE-compressed files of 1, 2, 4, 8 & 24 bits-per-pixel int CRaster::LoadBMP (char * szFile) { BITMAPFILEHEADER bmfh; BITMAPINFOHEADER bmih; // Open file. ifstream bmpfile (szFile , ios::in | ios::binary); if (! bmpfile.is_open()) return 1; // Error opening file // Load bitmap fileheader & infoheader bmpfile.read ((char*)&bmfh,sizeof (BITMAPFILEHEADER)); bmpfile.read ((char*)&bmih,sizeof (BITMAPINFOHEADER)); // Check filetype signature if (bmfh.bfType!='MB') return 2; // File is not BMP // Assign some short variables: BPP=bmih.biBitCount; Width=bmih.biWidth; Height= (bmih.biHeight>0) ? bmih.biHeight : -bmih.biHeight; // absoulte value BytesPerRow = Width * BPP / 8; BytesPerRow += (4-BytesPerRow%4) % 4; // int alignment // If BPP aren't 24, load Palette: if (BPP==24) pbmi=(BITMAPINFO*)new char [sizeof(BITMAPINFO)]; else { pbmi=(BITMAPINFO*) new char[sizeof(BITMAPINFOHEADER)+(1<<BPP)*sizeof(RGBQUAD)]; Palette=(RGBQUAD*)((char*)pbmi+sizeof(BITMAPINFOHEADER)); bmpfile.read ((char*)Palette,sizeof (RGBQUAD) * (1<<BPP)); } pbmi->bmiHeader=bmih; // Load Raster bmpfile.seekg (bmfh.bfOffBits,ios::beg); Raster= new char[bytesPerRow*Height]; // (if height is positive the bmp is bottom-up, read it reversed) if (bmih.biHeight>0) for (int n=Height-1;n>=0;n--) bmpfile.read (Raster+BytesPerRow*n,BytesPerRow); else bmpfile.read (Raster,BytesPerRow*Height); // so, we always have a up-bottom raster (that is negative height for windows): pbmi->bmiHeader.biHeight=-Height; bmpfile.close(); return 0; } // ********** // CRaster::GDIPaint (hdc,x,y); // * Paints Raster to a Windows DC. int CRaster::GDIPaint (HDC hdc,int x=0,int y=0) { // Paint the image to the device. return SetDIBitsToDevice (hdc,x,y,Width,Height,0,0, 0,Height,(LPVOID)Raster,pbmi,0); } //source from www.cplusplus.com Share this post Link to post
EddiE314 0 Posted March 9, 2001 Clutch - if i go into a store, what do i ask for? A conductive Pen? are there any other names? Share this post Link to post
Igor 0 Posted March 10, 2001 Four and Twenty Senior Member Posts: 354 Registered: Mar 2000 posted 07 March 2001 18:09 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- yeah IP: Logged EddiE314 Senior Member Posts: 879 Registered: Jan 2000 posted 07 March 2001 23:44 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- don't even try doing it yourself Cody, let me do it, better yet, let me show you how. Brian: you used a #2??? I thought thats what you were suppesed to use...i was gonnna use a #2 Dixon-Ticonderoga Wooden Pencil. well sh1t, i'll get a #2 and #3 and try them both on your processor Cody. IP: Logged Brian Frank Senior Member Posts: 178 Registered: Jan 2001 posted 08 March 2001 05:06 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Well the trick was supposed to work...but it didnt. Still, there's always the FSB. But with a KT133 board, you really cant push it past 113MHz. And this is on the Asus A7V. Still, thats nothing to laugh at. Make sure you get some kinda thermal paste, dropped my cpu temp by 10 degrees. Hope it works. IP: Logged clutch Senior Member Posts: 551 Registered: Mar 2000 posted 08 March 2001 05:16 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If the "pencil trick" is merely drawing a conductive path between two points, then why not get a conductive pen? You can find them at better electronics stores (usually not at Radio Shack) at they work very well. I used them in the past for correcting burned traces on circuit boards in moderate temperature applications. Shouldn't cost more than $5 US. ------------------ Regards, clutch IP: Logged pimpin_228 Senior Member Posts: 76 Registered: Feb 2001 posted 08 March 2001 07:04 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Okay no worries bout me doin anything IP: Logged Vampyr Senior Member Posts: 103 Registered: Oct 2000 posted 08 March 2001 07:05 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Common post 666 IP: Logged Vampyr Senior Member Posts: 103 Registered: Oct 2000 posted 08 March 2001 07:06 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 666 here i come!!!!!!! IP: Logged pimpin_228 Senior Member Posts: 76 Registered: Feb 2001 posted 08 March 2001 07:07 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 666 sucks IP: Logged Son_Gohan Senior Member Posts: 46 Registered: Dec 2000 posted 08 March 2001 14:08 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Since I don't know what to post today, here is another pointless win32 app: // ************************************************************* // BMP LOAD EXAMPLE // Written by Juan Soulie <jsoulie@cplusplus.com> // ************************************************************* #include <windows.h> #include <fstream.h> char szAppName [] = "BMPLoad"; LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc (HWND, UINT, WPARAM, LPARAM); // ********** // class CRaster // - Generic class for BMP raster images. class CRaster { public: int Width,Height; // Dimensions int BPP; // Bits Per Pixel. char * Raster; // Bits of the Image. RGBQUAD * Palette; // RGB Palette for the image. int BytesPerRow; // Row Width (in bytes). BITMAPINFO * pbmi; // BITMAPINFO structure // Member functions (defined later): int LoadBMP (char * szFile); int GDIPaint (HDC hdc,int x,int y); }; // ********** // Windows Main Function. // - Here starts our demo program int WINAPI WinMain ( HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow ) { HWND hwnd; MSG msg; WNDCLASS wc; wc.style = CS_HREDRAW|CS_VREDRAW; wc.lpfnWndProc = WindowProc; wc.cbCl***tra = 0; wc.cbWndExtra = 0; wc.hInstance = hInstance; wc.hIcon = LoadIcon (NULL, IDI_APPLICATION); wc.hCursor = LoadCursor (NULL, IDC_ARROW); wc.hbrBackground = (HBRUSH) (COLOR_WINDOW+1); wc.lpszMenuName = NULL; wc.lpszClassName = szAppName; RegisterClass (&wc); hwnd = CreateWindow (szAppName,"BMP Load",WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT, 0,0,hInstance,0); ShowWindow (hwnd,nCmdShow); UpdateWindow (hwnd); while (GetMessage(&msg,0,0,0)) { TranslateMessage (&msg); DispatchMessage (&msg); } return msg.wParam; } // ********** // Main Window Procedure. // - Processes Window Messages LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc (HWND hwnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam) { static CRaster bmp; HDC hdc; PAINTSTRUCT ps; switch (message) { case WM_CREATE: bmp.LoadBMP ("example.bmp"); return 0; case WM_PAINT: hdc=BeginPaint (hwnd,&ps); bmp.GDIPaint (hdc,10,10); EndPaint (hwnd,&ps); return 0; case WM_DESTROY: PostQuitMessage (0); return 0; } return DefWindowProc (hwnd,message,wParam,lParam); } // ********** // CRaster::LoadBMPFile (FileName); // - loads a BMP file into a CRaster object // * supports non-RLE-compressed files of 1, 2, 4, 8 & 24 bits-per-pixel int CRaster::LoadBMP (char * szFile) { BITMAPFILEHEADER bmfh; BITMAPINFOHEADER bmih; // Open file. ifstream bmpfile (szFile , ios::in | ios::binary); if (! bmpfile.is_open()) return 1; // Error opening file // Load bitmap fileheader & infoheader bmpfile.read ((char*)&bmfh,sizeof (BITMAPFILEHEADER)); bmpfile.read ((char*)&bmih,sizeof (BITMAPINFOHEADER)); // Check filetype signature if (bmfh.bfType!='MB') return 2; // File is not BMP // Assign some short variables: BPP=bmih.biBitCount; Width=bmih.biWidth; Height= (bmih.biHeight>0) ? bmih.biHeight : -bmih.biHeight; // absoulte value BytesPerRow = Width * BPP / 8; BytesPerRow += (4-BytesPerRow%4) % 4; // int alignment // If BPP aren't 24, load Palette: if (BPP==24) pbmi=(BITMAPINFO*)new char [sizeof(BITMAPINFO)]; else { pbmi=(BITMAPINFO*) new char[sizeof(BITMAPINFOHEADER)+(1<<BPP)*sizeof(RGBQUAD)]; Palette=(RGBQUAD*)((char*)pbmi+sizeof(BITMAPINFOHEADER)); bmpfile.read ((char*)Palette,sizeof (RGBQUAD) * (1<<BPP)); } pbmi->bmiHeader=bmih; // Load Raster bmpfile.seekg (bmfh.bfOffBits,ios::beg); Raster= new char[bytesPerRow*Height]; // (if height is positive the bmp is bottom-up, read it reversed) if (bmih.biHeight>0) for (int n=Height-1;n>=0;n--) bmpfile.read (Raster+BytesPerRow*n,BytesPerRow); else bmpfile.read (Raster,BytesPerRow*Height); // so, we always have a up-bottom raster (that is negative height for windows): pbmi->bmiHeader.biHeight=-Height; bmpfile.close(); return 0; } // ********** // CRaster::GDIPaint (hdc,x,y); // * Paints Raster to a Windows DC. int CRaster::GDIPaint (HDC hdc,int x=0,int y=0) { // Paint the image to the device. return SetDIBitsToDevice (hdc,x,y,Width,Height,0,0, 0,Height,(LPVOID)Raster,pbmi,0); } //source from www.cplusplus.com IP: Logged pimpin_228 Senior Member Posts: 76 Registered: Feb 2001 posted 08 March 2001 21:41 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- cool IP: Logged jdulmage Senior Member Posts: 782 Registered: Oct 2000 posted 08 March 2001 22:51 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- hahahah, we almost at 700 posts here. IP: Logged EddiE314 Senior Member Posts: 879 Registered: Jan 2000 posted 09 March 2001 07:45 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Clutch - if i go into a store, what do i ask for? A conductive Pen? are there any other names? Share this post Link to post
Igor 0 Posted March 10, 2001 yeah IP: Logged EddiE314 Senior Member Posts: 879 Registered: Jan 2000 posted 07 March 2001 23:44 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- don't even try doing it yourself Cody, let me do it, better yet, let me show you how. Brian: you used a #2??? I thought thats what you were suppesed to use...i was gonnna use a #2 Dixon-Ticonderoga Wooden Pencil. well sh1t, i'll get a #2 and #3 and try them both on your processor Cody. IP: Logged Brian Frank Senior Member Posts: 178 Registered: Jan 2001 posted 08 March 2001 05:06 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Well the trick was supposed to work...but it didnt. Still, there's always the FSB. But with a KT133 board, you really cant push it past 113MHz. And this is on the Asus A7V. Still, thats nothing to laugh at. Make sure you get some kinda thermal paste, dropped my cpu temp by 10 degrees. Hope it works. IP: Logged clutch Senior Member Posts: 551 Registered: Mar 2000 posted 08 March 2001 05:16 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If the "pencil trick" is merely drawing a conductive path between two points, then why not get a conductive pen? You can find them at better electronics stores (usually not at Radio Shack) at they work very well. I used them in the past for correcting burned traces on circuit boards in moderate temperature applications. Shouldn't cost more than $5 US. ------------------ Regards, clutch IP: Logged pimpin_228 Senior Member Posts: 76 Registered: Feb 2001 posted 08 March 2001 07:04 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Okay no worries bout me doin anything IP: Logged Vampyr Senior Member Posts: 103 Registered: Oct 2000 posted 08 March 2001 07:05 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Common post 666 IP: Logged Vampyr Senior Member Posts: 103 Registered: Oct 2000 posted 08 March 2001 07:06 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 666 here i come!!!!!!! Share this post Link to post
pimpin_228 0 Posted March 10, 2001 mAYBE I MIGHT JUST GET TO BE TOP OF THE 46 PAGE. Share this post Link to post